Legend of Grimrock, Take Two

I always lose, more or less, insignificant files and I keep reinstalling OS in every few months. This time, they were less insignificant – I expected for my save files to be somewhere in Steam’s cloud, but apparently, game doesn’t support that feature. Why is that, I didn’t care to figure out. Seamless experience is something I’m getting used to.

Anyway, start from beginning was a method I used few months ago while I was playing Planescape: Torment and Baldur’s Gate: Enhanced Edition. Both are one of the best RPG’s ever made and one of the best games of all time. Despite the habit of replaying before first finishing the game, I had a feeling that something new emerged every time.

Also, I experienced game in a new way, not only because of the details that I didn’t catch for the first time, but because I was more prepared.

In that moments of replay, I act differently. I move faster, I strike fiercely, I hunt with more hunger. Skilled more than the last time, I try to play in ways distinctive of those in first run.

And I like to do little things that will act as a small challenge. I am on third level of dungeon and I didn’t use any of skill points.

Combat system in this game is so simple and can be so creative. You “exploit” weakness of having to move in only four directions by luring enemy into “open” space and then you dance around him, dodging its attacks.

I just ended up close to where I left on Ubuntu. I have over 9 hours of playtime, hopefully many more to come.

 

* Featured image is a screenshot from my play of this game.

 

This text was translated to English under the light of a torch.
Sorry for the inconvenience.
By the way, I daily summarize my tweets and other online engagement, making a longer form of my thoughts.

Creative Commons LicenseLicensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Leave a Reply

